Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Awards Tuesday

It's Tuesday, the day before the 2011 NCAA DII Tennis Championships begin in earnest and that means it's awards time. Tonight, the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) will hold its annual awards banquet to honor the national award winners in several categories - Coach of the Year, Assistant Coach of the Year, Senior of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Player to Watch and the Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award.

Each of the eight regions names a winner on the men's and women's side and then the national awards are selected among the eight region winners.

The Pirates and Lady Pirates have several region winners, announced yesterday by the ITA, and tonight we'll see if they add national honors at the banquet. Armstrong's regional award winners for 2011 are:

Men's Southeast Region Player To Watch: Sophomore Matus Mydla
Men's Southeast Region Rookie of the Year: Freshman Pedro Scocuglia

Women's Southeast Region Coach of the Year: Simon Earnshaw
Women's Southeast Region Senior Player of the Year: Senior Alida Muller-Wehlau
Women's Southeast Region Rookie of the Year: Freshman Barbora Krtickova

Check back tonight as we report from the banquet with pictures and hopefully some national award winners !

1 comment:

  1. Let's go Pirates! Bring home some more hardware for the trophy case.
    ---Daniel Hinely